4 Doors To Death - Compilation

Track Listing: 

  1. Cemetery Filth - Consumption Of Volition
  2. Cemetery Filth - Dagonian Dialect... The Obelisk Unearthed
  3. Cemetery Filth - Cosmic Wraiths
  4. Ectovoid - Ash Primordial
  5. Ectovoid - Possessed By Ancient Dread
  6. Sabbatory - Ascension To My Holy Tomb
  7. Sabbatory - Primordial (cover Mortuary Drape)
  8. Trenchrot - Hell Pilot's Call
  9. Trenchrot - Powerful Kandarian Steel
  10. Trenchrot - Evil Dead (cover Death)



4 Doors To Death is a compilation CD released by Unspeakable Axe Records featuring the bands Cemetery Filth, Ectovoid, Sabbatory, and Trenchrot. Putting these 4 bands together was a genius move by the label and, from start to finish, this comp. is one of the best to ever be produced. It rates right up there with the likes of At Death’s Door and Death is Just the Beginning.  Your ears are definitely going to be bleeding after this one.

Cemetery Filth starts things off in nice grinding fashion with an awesome mid to late 90’s feel to their 3 tunes. Very much in the vein of Incubus, Entombed, Dismember yet almost doomy sounding at times. The material here has an old, epic, creepy feel to it. Yet, it is very dark, in your face, and unforgiving. What you hear is the ultimate evocation of the true essence of death metal. Very well done by these guys. 

From there we move on to Ectovoid who’s material adds a nicely played dark grindcore type feel. It’s almost as if you’re listening to a mixture of Cephalic Carnage, Brutal Truth, and Autopsy. To put the cherry on top with this band is the ever present Asphyx vibe that is going on. There is a great mixture going on here. I really like this band. They have a unique sound to the delivery of their material and incorporate different styles from around the world. This is one band you will definitely want to keep your eyes on. Well thought out material here. 

I have always like Sabbatory from the first time I had heard them. Very heavy on the Pestilence/Asphyx/Hail Of Bullets influence in the vocal department, and music wise it really reminds me of bands like Edge Of Sanity and Séance. Of all the bands that truly evoke the essence of the old school, it would have to be Sabbatory. This is a band that doesn’t disappoint. I must say that their material here edges out their album slightly. However, that is not to say that their album is lacking by any means. 

Back to the Autospy worship of things is the band Trenchrot. Heavy doom-laden death metal in the vein of the masters. The riffs here tell such tales of metallic agony, while the tortured growls drive home the horrors of hell from which these tunes came. 

This was a hell of a way to round out and end one of the best death metal compilations to ever see the light of day. Every band sounds so awesomely sick in their own right, and it is easy to see why these 4 were chosen for this comp. This is absolute total 100% quality here, and is yet another reason why Unspeakable Axe Records is one of the best underground labels in the business. The talent in Cemetery Filth, Ectovoid, Sabbatory, and Trenchrot speaks for itself and should not, under any circumstances, be underestimated. The production, artwork (it has 4 different covers and a slipcase), and time that went in to making this comp. is second to none. This is professionalism of the utmost levels by everyone involved. It will be interesting to see if another volume is released in the future. If you do not have this in your collection, then you seriously need to look for it and get it.

Label Name: 
Unspeakable Axe Records