Blasphemer – Blasphemer

Track Listing: 

  1. Death Note (Free)
  2. Immortality
  3. Sutcliffe
  4. March Of The War Priests
  5. Blasphemer
  6. Cult Of The Conquerors
  7. Wonderland Of Cruelty
  8. Sarcastic Ideology



British death metallers Blasphemer originally formed in the 90’s and did the rounds on the underground scene releasing a string of demos. Now reformed the band finally get to release this self titled debut album. "Blasphemer" is a mish mash of older tracks rerecorded and new tracks. 

Sound wise its old school death metal good and proper. Of course it brings to mind the golden era of the 90’s but everything sonically benefits from a modern recording. It’s along the lines of Napalm Death, Benediction, Bolt Thrower and the like with a bit of classic metal in terms of structure and the guitar leads etc. It’s quite varied in tone and tempo, the tracks are thought out and the album flows nicely. Opener 'Immortality' starts things off with chugging riffs and groove. The title track is thrashier and rocks like a bastard while 'March Of The Priests' is a slow doom laden, atmospheric track. The album actually gets better as it goes along on 'Wonderland Of Cruelty' and the closing track 'Sarcastic Ideology' things really take off and get furious. They have a real live feel to them. 

Albums like this are the very reason those of us who go beyond the surface of metal. We scour magazines, sites and second hand shops looking for a lost gem or a diamond in the rough. There’s nothing that makes a collectors ear prop up as the word “under rated”. Much like how Hell resurrected themselves a few years ago, this album is a testament to perseverance and is proof that you can’t hold good music down. A great song stands the test of time and the fact that some of these songs are over 20 years old says it all. 

If you are a fan of old school death metal you simply need this album, add it to your collection and pretend it’s been there all along! Hats off to Blasphemer, I’m sure this album was worth the wait. Now on to the next one!

Label Name: 
Self Released