Blasphemer - Ritual Theophagy

Ritual Theophagy
Track Listing: 

  1. Suicide For Satan
  2. You Are Nothing
  3. Jesus Rapes
  4. Worship In The Void
  5. Antichristian Extremism
  6. Annihilated Divinity
  7. Obscuring The Holy Light
  8. Crucifix Of Shit (Stench Of Prophet)
  9. Fetishistic Idolatry Of The Cross
  10. I Deny
  11. Ritual Theophagy



“Ritual Theophagy” is the title of the Italy based band Blasphemer’s sophmore effort. This is one of those releases that is extremely heavy, dirty and just overall nasty. It seems that bands like these are coming out of the wood work, and if you’ve heard one you’ve heard them all. To some extent that might be true, but Blasphemer don’t give a damn. They are here shaking their fists to the heavens and preaching their brand of blasphemous gospel to the masses. There are no gimmicks needed here. This is pure hatred for the light in all of its glory!

The riffs are so razor sharp is incomprehensible. I really love the guitar sound here. It reminds me a tad bit of early Malevolent Creation with a slight black metal edge thrown in to take it over the top. There is a little Suffocation vibe happening as well although the tone seems to be a bit higher here. The guitars are pretty traditional as far as what the given genre would require with a little technical talent thrown in just to keep things fresh and interesting. Not sure if many people have heard of this band but these guys remind me a lot of Reptilian Death. Both in approach and delivery although the sound may differ a bit. The label of brutal death metal suits Blasphemer well, but I can’t help but think that there is a strong influence of traditionalism, at least as far as presentation goes. This aspect of the music is absolutely flawless. 

The drummer is absolutely insane! From what I can tell there are no triggers which makes everything I am hearing that much more phenomenal. Don’t get me wrong, I am not against triggers, but when you hear drumming like this and if there are no triggers, then that speaks volumes of the drummers ability behind the kit. But, even if there are triggers used in certain parts of this release, that still doesn’t take away from the monstrous rhythms this man maintains. I really like the tracks on this CD where the bass has been brought up a little and given a little more prominence. It doesn’t seem to be done in every track, but only where necessary for the best effect as it adds an extra element of “depth” to the song. The vocals are extremely brutal and quite fitting for the material, but couldn’t really follow along with the lyrics. This bothered me a little but not as much as with other bands. Despite this, I just sat back and tried a little harder to embrace this particular style of vocals.

Overall, I really enjoyed this release. The overall brutality and presentation was intense and consuming. Within this beast of an offering I sensed a deep-rooted passion for what they were doing and saying and that stayed with me through the entire CD. This is a band that I will have to explore more in order to see how they arrived at the point where they are today. If any of you are fans of brutal death metal, or just death metal in general, then I highly recommend that you get this CD. It has been release by Comatose Records. This is definitely a band that deserves your respect and support.

Label Name: 
Comatose Music