Mussorgski – Creatio Cosmicam Bestiae

Creatio Cosmicam Bestiae
Track Listing: 

  1. Gaaya - The Planet Of The Dead
  2. God Is In The Neurons
  3. Implanted Consciousness
  4. Inverted Aeon
  5. Key To The Universe
  6. Paradisum
  7. Sabbathum In Perpetuum
  8. Stellar Core



Mussorski is a one man project from Poland which does experimental black metal with an industrial twist. It’s a curious mix and the albums main strength is its uniqueness. 

Starting off with the familiar 'Gaaya' we get a mid paced, haunting and melodic take on black metal much in the vein of Satyricon and the like. The main problem with the album is it kind of starts and stops. It will have a track but then you get a slow number which will be ambient and will have a bit of spoken word and you then get a blasting track like 'Sabbathum In Perpetuum' but just as the pace builds up it feels too often like the album falls down in order to start again. 

With that gripe aside there is some great content here. The ambient instrumental 'Stellar Core' for example is a dark dreamy atmospheric little track and the best actually saved for last with the two final tracks. “Implanted Consciousness” an industrial track that I think Trent Reznor would be proud to call his own and 'Paradisum' a slow burner that brings the album to a great climax is actually the albums strongest track.

All in all while this album will not be for everyone it’s definitely one worth checking out if you are looking for something different and you want to take your mind down some weird and unusual roads. It’s certainly one of the most original and unusual album in recent times.

Label Name: 
Godz ov War Productions