Nil Miserans – Nil Miserans

Nil Miserans
Track Listing: 

  1. ...Of Love And Death (An Ill Wind And Its Ensuing Storm)
  2. The Crossing
  3. Styx
  4. Facing The Shores Of Hades
  5. Hall Of Judgement
  6. The Escape
  7. The Curse Of The Erinys
  8. Arise, Lord Of The Lifeless! (Apotheosis)



Hailing from Belgium Nil Miserans is a brand new project and here they present their debut release, their self titled full length album. The band are jumping straight in the deep end and hitting us with a concept album a feat that even the most accomplished of bands can make an almighty balls up with. However Nil Miserans pull it off wonderfully. 

With 6 songs and 2 interludes the album flows like a concept album should and all the tracks mold together making the album most enjoyed as a whole, which makes it hard to pick a stand out track. The songs are predominantly death metal with subtle hints at black metal but with tons of melody and actually quite a bit of doom thrown in. The band has as much in common with (early) Paradise Lost or Swallow The Sun as they do Morbid Angel or Cannibal Corpse. While varying speeds and tempos the entire album is crushingly heavy and the melody and orchestration just adds to the overall atmosphere. 

With so much going on it’s surprising to see the album is only 29 minutes long which is fine because it’s that easier to digest. What’s great is that it is clearly well thought out and it reveals more with each listen. Without doubt one of the more creative and original debut albums of the year.

Label Name: 
Self released