Poseydon - Masterpiece

Track Listing: 

  1. Classified
  2. Masterpiece
  3. Realm Of The Dead
  4. The Tempest
  5. Blind Faith
  6. Pre-Emptive Strike
  7. Weakness
  8. Tortured Shadows
  9. Last Sunset
  10. Innocent Blood



These guys are from Belgium, they were active in the early 90’s but then took a break. "Masterpiece" is a filthy slab of furious thrash metal, done in a way that isn’t retro, it sounds raw yes, but natural. The sound reminds me of old Kreator and Sepultura, having a harsher near death metal tirade but thoroughly sitting within the abrasive thrash mould. The stand out track for me is ‘Pre-Emptive Strike’ which has a perfect balance in terms of aggression and delivery. With an eerie instrumental also included (‘Tortured Shadows’), in which I did have to check that this was the same album spinning, the dimension certainly changes…the stance maybe different but damn, this really works. It’s thoroughly evil!

Taking the bull by the horns, ‘Realm Of The Dead’ engages a slightly more modern sound, but has all the heritage present also. The time changes are synced perfectly, the vocals, ok may not be everyone’s favourite flavour, but the songs just wouldn’t sound the same if they were not as abrasive or harsh. I like this character and this album.

This is one of those albums that doesn’t excite on paper, but playing this and buying is a must for harder edged thrash lovers. The tight musicianship coupled with am angrier side of the vocal range works, it sounds fresh, not unique I shall give you that, but the feel when you hear this is rather special whilst staying away from total retro worship, this album has hallmarks of some classic thrash material and this is a good place to be.

Label Name: 
Self released