Martyred - The Relegation

Oh my god what a record! "The Relegation" is the first official full length for Martyred, a death metal band from Austin, Texas. Active from 2003 to 2010 and returned to the track in 2017, Martyred succeeded in releasing their first official work relying on the Italian TTK Records. The relegation presents itself from the artwork with a great force of impact, cover by the good Jon Zig (Disgorge, Defeated Sanity.... and many more) with additional graphic layout by Bob Toderico (Asphyx, Pestilence ... and many others).

The band currently consists of Krieg Penny - vocals, Mike DeBord - guitars, Jason Frankhouser - guitars, Stephen Fernandez - bass, Rene Martinez - drums. Mike, after several line up changes, remains the only original member of this Texan combo. But let's get to the album. 

"The Relegation" is composed of 8 tracks of pure and healthy violent brutal death. Among the many releases that crowd the whole world music scene there are few releases that leave me really impressed and this album will certainly become part of it. Let's be clear. Martyred have not invented anything new, but within the genre they have been able to create something really fresh and with a lot of ideas, so much so that they cannot find one track inferior to another. 

From the opener 'Shadows Of Deception' to the final 'Carnage Incarnate', you will be attacked on multiple fronts by the violence unleashed by Martyred. Tight rhythms and sharp riffs united by a powerful but never monotonous growl, capable of ranging over several tones and giving the right mood to each single piece. Battery always present and ready to erect its wall against which we will be thrown at the speed of light. 

Excellent all the songs but also excellent mix and mastering work performed by Juan Urteaga at Trident Recording Studio (Cattle Decapitation, Exhumed). There is nothing more to say. make this album yours!!

5 / 5 STARS

1. Shadows Of Deception
2. Sadist Globe
3. Iniquitous Transformation
4. Baneful Scorn
5. Relegation
6. Divine Pestilence
7. Toxic Transmissions
8. Carnage Incarnate