Slaughterday - Tyrants Of Doom

Slaughterday is a German duo, Jens Fingers – guitars and bass, and Bernd Reiners – vocals and drums, since 2010, from Leer, Lower Saxony, who present us their fourth album "Tyrants Of Doom" through the label F.D.A. Records, coming out on September 23.

The style of this band is death metal without more, with all the nuances of this genre, dark parts, fast parts, melodic parts, intensity, melancholy, hate, all in one album, it will be easy for you to listen to it, it will even sound familiar to you , because there are parts that seem like you've heard them before, without being a copy, it is death metal.

Slaughterday's sound comes straight from the 90's and 2000's, even the late 80's, listening to this album you might remember bands like Death, Vader, Autopsy, Asphyx, Grave, even something we could call death and roll, and some black winds sometimes listening to this album transports you to the early 90s, those classics... At the same time that sounds death metal of these times.

As musicians they show that playing death metal is not at odds with technique and good taste, we can go from dense parts, to melodies, other techniques, without falling into extravagance, and some solos that raise the level of this album. To finish we have a cover of Carnivore 'Predator', correct, of course the voice changes, they give it the power of the original, that taste of old thrash, but with the sound of today.

With this work Slaughterday are placed in the front wagon of European death metal in terms of execution and good work. As usual, the album was recorded, mixed and mastered at Soundlodge Studios by Jörg Uken. The artwork was done by Khaos Diktator Design (Lock Up, Possession etc.). 

4 / 5 STARS

1. Intro
2. Mauled
3. Coffined Saviour
4. Necromantic Visions
5. Grave Nihilist
6. Pestilent Tombs
7. Tyrants Of Doom
8. Drown In Filth
9. Parasitic
10. Predator (cover Carnivore)