Ablaze in Hatred – The Quietude Plains

Ablaze In Hatred was born in the year 2004 (Helsinki, Finland). Two friends Juhani Sanna and Mika Ikonen had a desire to create music, which was dark, slow and same time very heavy and atmospheric. In the autumn 2004 Ablaze In Hatred began to write music for the first promo-release. Early 2005 the song material was ready to be recorded in a studio. In the spring 2005 drummer Antti Hakkala (Searing Meadow) and bassist Miska Lehtivuori (Fall Of The Leafe) joined the band. In august 2005 Ablaze In Hatred went to the studio to record their first promo-cd called 'Closure of Life'. The songs were recorded at the Noisecamp studios with producer Kari Nieminen. The result of that session was three songs over 20 minutes of slow and gloomy death/doom with growling vocals. September 2005 'Closure of Life (promo 2005)' was released. The release gained soon a very positive response in the scene. In October 2005 the band signed a deal with Firebox Records and started to write/finish the material for the full-length album. The debut album, titled as "Deceptive Awareness", was recorded in June 2006 and it will be released in early October 2006. We are all doomed...

That is band´s third album after „Closure of life“ (demo 2005) and „Deceptive Awareness“ (2006) After the first seconds, some lead guitar introduction you´ll know what you get: Slow and depressive Metal.The songs are very very slow, with a lot of nice lead guitar and synthizer leads, fine melodies of sorrow and powerfull chords, mixed with deep painfull growls... do you know these trademarks?

Yes, maybe there will be huge comeback of the famous Doom-Metal Days in the early 90´ies, because more and more bands are addicted to that style... The sound is really professionell and all instruments are absolutetly tight recored.All of the 7 songs on this cd are pretty nice to listen, but there are no highspots. Some nice arrangements loosen the slow melodies. If you want to relax or to jump back to the early 90´ies you are welcome to enjoy this album.

1. A Walk Through the Silence
2. Perfection of Waves
3. The Wandering Path
4. Beyond the Trails of Torment
5. The Quietude Plains
6. My Dearest End
7. Therefore I Suffer

Firebox Records
Reviewer: twansibon
Aug 1, 2009
Next review: Diktat – II

Share this: