Anaal Nathrakh – The Whole Of The Law

Anaal Nathrakh are an unusual entity starting off as a two man studio project never playing live because they thought it would be impossible to play their music. Now Dave Hunt and Mick Kenney are on their tenth album and Anaal Nathrakh are not only one of the most important bands from the UK but one of the leading bands in all thing extreme. They just keep finding ways in pushing the limits in making songs just that bit heavier with each album. What’s funny also is that I think their later albums including this one they have not only got more melodic but actually quite accessible yet they still remain face meltingly heavy.

Opening with the standard introduction track before 'Depravity Favours The Bold' reigns a like a hail storm onto the listener. There is so much going on. Most bands have a blast beat backing up their track but with Anaal the whole song hits like a blast beat, with shredding guitars, orchestral arrangements Dave’ tortured screeching vocals one minute and operatic clean vocals the next. That’s one thing I don’t think is highlighted enough is how versatile a vocalist Dave Hunt is. There is so much this guy can do with his voice. For example, on 'In Flagrante Delicto' a slow dark industrial track the spoken word he does is terrific and adds to the atmosphere wonderfully.

While you won’t hear anything you haven’t heard before on this record Anaal Nathrakh continue to build on what came before. With each record they just adds little touches and add little tweaks while refining their style and sound which mixes elements of death metal, black metal, grindcore and industrial and is quite literally the soundtrack to your world collapsing. This tenth album is as good a place to start as any for those new to the band and sits nicely to the collection of the fully initiated fan. A great addition to a devastating body of work.

  1. The Nameless Dread
  2. Depravity Favours The Bold
  3. Hold Your Children Close And Pray For Oblivion
  4. We Will Fucking Kill You
  5. ...So We Can Die Happy
  6. In Flagrante Delicto
  7. And You Will Beg For Our Secrets
  8. Extravaganza!
  9. On Being A Slave
  10. The Great Spectator
  11. Of Horror, And The Black Shawls

Reviewer: twansibon
Oct 22, 2016

Share this: