Arise - The Reckoning

Swedish Death/thrashers Arise are on album number four with this release. In recent times, there has been a big influx of bands attempting this genre, a very modern production and sound, thus enhancing a style that was getting weaker by the minute, although we now maybe talking about over saturation of this genre? Well who cares! From the first proper opening tune ‘No Memory of Light’, you get a massive boom in the face and your ears are certainly brought to attention. Any band that takes their name from A Sepultura song and started life as a cover band of both Machine Head and Pantera (and aforementioned band), their sound is going to be similar. What breaks this away from dated renditions of the 90’s is the ferocious energy captured in StudioMega, Sweden, even if it not as organic as some Swedish studios we know and love, take Dew-Scented as a reference, but with better vocals from  Patsy crossed with Dark Tranquility or latter period In Flames. Whilst still undeniably melodic death, but with a few mixes and mechanisation about the sound and every instrument appears “fixed” to perfection.

The album is concise and precision led, the tunes are listenable but not that different from each other, but then a band has to concentrate on its own style otherwise it would be tagged as something else right? Arise provides a competent rendition of melodic death thrash, but I do feel it is another also-ran rendition of a popular style. Vocally, as I mentioned earlier, there is style, and musically, it rips through your head like a freight train but this could also be heard in numerous other projects. But in summary, ‘The Reckoning’ is tight, melody driven music with a constant rebuttal of heaviness, I cannot deny that this is a pleasurable listen, it does what it should, entertains.

1. Adrenaline Rush
2. No Memory Of light
3. Blindead
4. They Are Coming For You
5. Pitch Black
6. The Reckoning
7. Reclaiming The Soul
8. The Fury
9. Dead Silence
10. End Of Days

Regain Records
Reviewer: twansibon
Jul 17, 2010

Share this: