Atmosphere Grey - Spiral Of Phenomena

Spiral Of Phenomena is the debut album by Atmosphere Grey, a five-piece modern death metal band from Madrid, Spain. Formed in 2008, these guys now present us with nearly 40 minutes of their vision on how modern death metal should be done. And to be honest, it's not very different from the vision of hundreds of other bands playing the same music all over the world.

Sure, Atmosphere Grey do their job really well and you can even expect an interesting live show since they are fronted by a beautiful female vocalist. But as far as the record goes, it doesn't sound anything far and original from countless Arch Enemy clones. To be honest, I didn't even realize that it's a woman singing on the record before checking the band's myspace page. The music is a mix of riffs and breakdowns you've heard a million times before (and will definitely hear another millions time in the future). It's the typical melodic death metal that has spawned so many bands well since it started back in the 90's.

Don't get me wrong, the guys are really good at what they are doing and this record isn't worse of any other record from this style. But if you're looking for a genuine and original sound that would really stand out from the crowd and give you something to enjoy for more than just a single spin, that's not the record to expect things like that from.

1 Andromeda (Intro)
2 Lapinmies
3 Psycho Me
4 Don't Fuck My Blood
5 World
6 The Sailor
7 Spinning To Hell
8 Incompatible
9 Journey To The Emptiness
Self released
Reviewer: twansibon
Jan 7, 2011

Share this: