Axedra - Mass Deception

Axedra is a band that was formed in Russia in 2008 by the brothers Ramil Garipov (guitar/vocals) and Ilnur Garipov (guitar). At some point they moved to Vancouver, Canada which is where they release their debut full length album "Mass Deception".

With the help of Logan Charron on bass and Daniil Volovik on drums, the Garipov brothers have created eight tracks of oldschool death metal in the vein of Cannibal Corpse and Deicide. The opening track 'Momentary Control' shows that those guys know pretty well how to handle their instruments and how to create interesting guitar riffs.

'Buried Alive', 'Apocalypse' or 'Infectious Insanity' are crushing death metal hammers that will make your head banging for sure. The sound production is on a very good level and each instrument can be clearly heard. There are fast and grinding as well as slow moments so it is not just a sound wall of hyper brutality. Axedra don't offer anything new to the genre but what they do they do it well. The band is independent so any label interested in new and upcoming death metal bands should check them out.

3 / 5 STARS

1. Momentary Control
2. Buried Alive
3. Mass Deception
4. Apocalypse
5. Infectious Insanity
6. Parasitic Nightmare
7. Thought Corruption
8. Hellbringer

Self released
Reviewer: Tsvetan
Sep 20, 2021

Share this: