Battalion - Winter Campaign

Battalion can best be described as good old fashioned mid-paced deathcore metal. The first band that came to my mind as a sound-alike comparison would be California death metallers Gatekeeper, although the band lists influences as Bolt Thrower, Autopsy, Grave and Terrorizer among other bands. Winter Campaign is Battalion's first full-length CD and it comes complete with growling vox, solid blastbeat drumming and chugging guitar riffs that ain't too fancy and of course a smattering of battleground sound FX here and there. The tunes on this one are pretty similar to each other with decent song structure, various rhythm changes, all very tight and well-executed. A guitar solo here and there wouldn't hurt. The lyrics paint a picture of the horrors of war in its many forms and is a theme very relevant to the world today. Standout tracks, for my money the third track, "Warfiend" is the best one, and track 8, "Superior Firepower" is also quite good. "Torture Tactics" is another one I like. All in all, this is a solid release, nothing terribly ground-breaking but enjoyable listening all the same.

1. Spitfire
2. Bombenkrieg
3. Warfiend
4. Nuclear Devastation
5. Winter Campaign
6. Monolith
7. Skeleton City
8. Superior Firepower
9. Defcon 696
10. The Swarm
11. Ghost of War
Shiver Records
Reviewer: twansibon
Feb 26, 2009

Share this: