Cannibal Corpse - Evisceration Plague

Wow, such energy! Way vintage Cannibal Corpse by far. One of my favorite releases from this band. Probably the best release since 'Bloodthirst' (1999) or 'Gallery of Suicide' (1998). Corpsegrinder whales here!

The guitar riffs and solos by Pat O'Brien and Rob Barrett simply slay. I think the guitars are again in B-flat tuning. That's what makes their sound so brutal. The distortion is really chunky. Not a really long album but it's 38 minutes of complete and utterly awesome death metal.

The drums are filled with blast beats and double bass kicks by Paul Mazurkiewicz. They let up some of the time but mostly the tempos are really fast. Also amazing is the bass by Alex Webster. How he can keep up with these riffs without using a pick at all is astonishing.

Way better than 'Kill' (2006) because of the production quality, the overall aura of the album, and it's catchier. I still think that Corpsegrinder is much more versatile as a vocalist than Chris Barnes ever was. Corpsegrinder to me is much more likeable.

I don't really care much for their lyrics nor have I ever been a big fan of them. They sing about gore, death, torture, cannibalism, and zombies. But that's what gives them that underground feel with no compromise. They never withdrew from their roots which is another reason why this new album really shines.

The artwork features disfigured corpses which is totally appropriate. CC wants you to get the feel that they'll never sell out in terms of their writing style and music. At least that's my impression when I look at the album cover.

A few tracks to listen to if you're not convinced here by this review are 'Priests of Sodom', 'Scalding Hail' and the title track. This release by far is NOT boring at all. As I mentioned before, Cannibal Corpse exhibits tons of energy here which is simply captivating.

1. Priests Of Sodom
2. Scalding Hail
3. To Decompose
4. A Cauldron Of Hate
5. Beheading And Burning
6. Evidence In The Furnace
7. Carnivorous Swarm
8. Evisceration Plague
9. Shatter Their Bones
10. Carrion Sculpted Entity
11. Unnatural
12. Skewered From Ear To Eye

Metal Blade Records
Reviewer: Death8699
Aug 8, 2010

Share this: