Carach Angren - Lammendam

Carach Angren is a band hailing from the south of the Netherlands and consist of three members, Seregor (v/g), Ardek (k) and Namtar (d). They already released two independent EPs and now they are here with their debut full length.

10 Tracks of symphonic, bombastic, atmospheric and fast black metal. It ain't fast the whole time but they added various breakdowns to create tension or sensativity. The lyrics are in English, Dutch and German and dealing about the story of a female ghost haunting the area. Keyboards are sometime too prominent but they give it the symphonic touch while the drums are just ruthless.

With "Lammendam" the band made an impressive album that has reference to Dimmu or Cradle but they walk their won path. A path that interacts with the furious fast parts and the atmospheric breaks. No raw or rough black metal but well composed and well thought songs.

1. Het Spook Von De Leiffatrshof
2. A Strange Presence Near The Woods
3. Haunting Echoes From The Seventeenth Century
4. Phobic Shadows And Moonlit Meadows
5. Hexed Melting Flesh
6. The Carriage Wheel Murder
7. Corpse In A Nebulous Creek
8. Invisible Physic Entity
9. Heretic Poltergeist Phnomena
10. La Malediction De La Madame Blanche
Maddening Media Records
Reviewer: twansibon
Feb 26, 2009
Next review: Capharnaum - Fractured

Share this: