Carcass - Heartwork

Follow up album from 'Necroticism - Descanting the Insalubrious' (1991) and I'd have to say that this recording is far better than its previous work. This release is more melodic and very noteworthy. No song on this record gets anything less than 9-10/10. The production sound is phenomenal all instruments seem to mesh together to perfection.

If you are a fan of melodic death metal then this album you need to own! Not so much of a grindcore act for this one Carcass changed their raw/grind sort of style to a more melodic sound. There is some blast beating going on though still but the riffs are way more of a mature sort of Carcass sound.

This release and 'Necroticism - Descanting the Insalubrious' I would definitely check out if you haven't already. Songs to check out would be 'Buried Dreams', 'Embodiment' and the title track 'Heartwork'. It will get you more familiar with the melodic route in which Carcass seemed to emanate towards.

Suffice to say here that they didn't entirely abandon their grindcore roots but just added more melodic parts to their songwriting style here. The lyrical content is still pretty technical though it fits well with the musical aspect of the album. Jeff Walker on bass and vocals has a raspy voice not so much deep end whatsoever. In terms of the guitars, both Steer and Amott dominate in terms of rhythm and lead guitar. It seemed as though there was competition between these 2 guitarists but they both made the album impeccable.

I'd have to conclude that 'Heartwork' is their strongest release to date because it's filled not only with diversity in the guitar riffs but the lyrical content, drums, and vocals combine altogether to make one helluva release. Check out the tracks I urged you to if you haven't already to just get a taste of what I'm talking about here.

'Swansong' (1995) doesn't nearly even possess such great work as does 'Heartwork'. After this release I wouldn't advocate following Carcass till they disbanded. I'd conclude that 'Necroticism' and 'Heartwork' remain to be Carcass's best ever releases. If you do choose to purchase both of them or just 'Heartwork' I willl tell you that you are not wasting your money!

1. Buried Dreams
2. Carnal Forge
3. No Love Lost
4. Heartwork
5. Embodiment
6. This Mortal Coil
7. Arbeit Macht Fleisch
8. Blind Bleeding The Blind
9. Doctrinal Expletives
10. Death Certificate

Earache Records
Reviewer: Death8699
Aug 8, 2010

Share this: