Cattle Decapitation - The Harvest Floor

With just four full lengths Cattle Decapitation have carved a place as one of California’s most extreme death metal bands. The Harvest Floor is their most ambitious and brutal recording yet with its precise musicianship, intricate songwriting and blast traveling beyond the limits of human endurance. The Harvest Floor will doubly redefine death metal in the long run if the combined quality of the music and the production is any indication of where the genre is heading. Billy Anderson who has produced the Swans and the Melvins has an equal adroitness for producing death metal albums, judging by the way he helps transform Cattle Decapitation’s chaotic brutality to razor-sharp clarity. The result goes a long way toward further establishing death metal as something far greater than simple cacophony in a manner the mainstream cannot deny. The infuriated overtones of each song remains untouched by Anderson’s production job, demonstrating that musical integrity pays more than compromise. Cattle Decapitation will solidify the thinning gap between underground and aboveground.

1. The Gardeners Of Eden
2. A Body Farm
3. We Are Horrible People
4. Tooth Enamel And Concrete
5. The Ripe Beneath The Rind
6. The Product Alive
7. In Axestasy
8. Into The Public Bath
9. The Harvest Floor
10. Regret & The Grave
Metal Blade
Reviewer: twansibon
Jun 25, 2009

Share this: