Cradle of Filth - Dusk...And Her Embrace

This is the most atmospheric, aura filled with sheer evil, and in my opinion the best Cradle of Filth album to date. What we have here is Dani Filth screaming in his highest pitched vocals ever for a Cradle of Filth release and he mixes it up with low end talking, spewing forth dark words/lyrics, but mostly high end shrieks that can never again be replicated. Actually, he has 3 tones that he sings in plus guest female vocalists that accompany the compositions. They fill the album with more darkness and total gothic outputs.

The guitars are quite noteworthy, sometimes there is quite fast guitar work, but mostly a combination of melodic and ultimately intriguing riffs that really stick in your head. I'd say this is their most melodic release to date as well. The music, the vocals, the drums, the backup vocalists all put forth together as a unit in making this release their most notorious one. It really is a total atmospheric/dark setting for each song. There isn't a track on here that is boring or lacking creativity. Every single song is totally outstanding.

Opening of the album and some songs filled with those synthesizers and keyboards that feed into the melodic feel of the release making songs more intriguing and uncompromising in darkness. It's a total goth metal album, so many tempo changes it becomes difficult to hear music that is so translucent and ingenious. The melodic guitars alongside the keyboards augment the sound of the songs. Tempos yes are quite ever changing and Dani's shrieking vocals make it pretty impossible to understand what he's saying.

The lyrical content for this album range from talks about erotica, evil, Mythology and horror tales. A quite well thought out album lyrically, each song embraces the sense of these words with music complimenting the singing and the backgrounds seem only able to produce more evil because the synthesizers go hand in hand with the guitars and make it so dark, Dani literally goes insane on here. There are some blast beating going on depending on what track that you want to key into. My favorite track is "Heaven Torn Asunder."

Production quality was quite good here for a 1996 release and nothing really is on here that is not mixed in well with each song. You get everything a gothic metal release has to offer. Intensity, erotica, guitar lines filled with chords and fast tremolo picking in some cases, but for the most part, all of the guitar riffs are very very melodic. They have a slight reverb to each track and totally either bombard you with that fast riffing that fluctuates constantly. Nothing on here is without innovative ideas, the songwriting is amazing.

This is one album you can never get sick of because of it's sheer evil and soul dampening. There are balls to this release, a sheer triumph in metal music as we know it. A couple of instrumentals on here which are epic. This clocks almost at 60 minutes in length for just 9 songs. Every track is filled with an utmost melodic and utter abundance of originality. There aren't that many guitar leads on here, but the ones that do take place on here are executed with absolute precision.

Cradle of Filth's brilliance on Dusk...and Her Embrace is so admirable, it lacks in almost in no way any criticism whatsoever. I'd have to say one caveat though is that the snare drum wasn't the greatest. It wasn't enough to make it any lesser of a release however. From start to finish, there is no track on here that is boring, unimaginative, dull or unoriginal. It really hits home here and listeners of the band will be astonished if they've not heard it! YouTube some tracks on here, especially my favorite and you'll be blown away!

1. Humana Inspired To Nigtmare
2. Heaven Torn Asunder
3. Funeral In Carpathia
4. A Gothic Romance (Red Roses For The Devil's Whore)
5. Nocturnal Supremacy
6. Malice Through The Looking Glass
7. Dusk And Her Embrace
8. The Graveyard By Moonlight
9. Beauty Slept In Sodom
10. Haunted Shores

Music For Nations
Reviewer: Death8699
Aug 8, 2010
Next review: Carcass - Heartwork

Share this: