Create A Kill - Summoned To Rise

It was easy to shrug and say "Here we go, another super group" when it was announced Alex Marquez and Gus Rios were collaborating on a project. Many of us were expecting a cool album but nothing earth shattering, well think again folks because Create A Kill are about to melt your face like the Nazi at the end of Raiders of the Lost Ark!

"Summoned To Rise" absolutely kicked my ass! I got the download and put it on my phone to listen to while I mowed my lawn. I've never mowed my lawn so fast and I nearly threw it over the fence into next door!

Comprising of drumming legend Alex Marquez and current man of the hour Gus Rios, joined by Exhumed's Matt Harvey, Possessed and Gruesome's Daniel Gonzalez as well as Dirk Verbeuren of Soilwork and Megadeth fame and Tobias Gustafsson. You'll have to get the album and read the liner notes to see exactly who does what on each track but each members resume speaks for itself.

"Summoned To Rise" sits in that perfect little spot between death and thrash metal. It has the perfect balance of brutality and catchiness with shredding yet melodic riffs. There isn't a song over 5 minutes and there isn't an ounce of fat on the album. Every riff, note and beat is in it's place with laser precision. No poncy intro, no melodic parts just 10, no nonsense, all killer no filler, balls out thrash - death metal in the vein of Demolition Hammer, Solstice, Morbid Saint, Possessed.... the list goes on.

'Decimate' brings to mind Exhorder with it's mid paced groove. We get a slightly slower pace on 'Gauntlet Of Pain' before picking the pace again and there's an almighty Kerry King-esque solo on 'Praise'. Though there is a stomach churning solo on each track.

Simply put, I was blown away by this album and I can't stop playing it. It's such an easy album to get into and so much fun and it's so simple, that's the genius of it. You simply have to get this album, it's the must have purchase of the summer.

Hails to Create A kill. The biggest surprise of 2018. An absolute sucker punch of an album.

  1. Create A Kill
  2. Cold Blooded
  3. Crave The Blade
  4. Decimate
  5. Premeditated
  6. Gauntlet Of Pain
  7. Praise The Beast
  8. Reap The Whirlwind
  9. The Sow Is Mine
  10. Show Of Force

Reviewer: twansibon
Jun 26, 2018

Share this: