Deathswarm - Forward Into Oblivion

Deathswarm are a new Swedish death metal band created by musicians who used to be in the Swedish old school death metal heroes Sarcasm who were active in the beginning of the 90's and are also functioning at the moment.

"Forward Into Oblivion" is their second record and if you like your death metal to sound like Bolt Thrower or Asphyx then this album is a must-hear! The opening track 'We Still Burn' crushed with mid-tempo drumming and heavy riffs in the vein of the above mentioned Bolt Thrower.

Deathswarm offer variously sounding tracks such as the fast stomping 'Unshackle The Jackal' and 'Army Of Shadows' or slow pieces like 'Where Death Is Recrowned' and 'In The Wells They Await'. My favourite track in this album though is the mid-tempo killer 'The Poet And The Meat Cleaver' which offers great guitar riffing. The sound production is on a very good level and you can clearly hear what is being played on each instrument.

The only minus in this album for me is the cover artwork - it looks like a bad Photoshop and is laughable but probably this was the intention, who knows... Anyway, the cover artwork aside, Deathswarm's second album is one very solid slab of old school death metal that deserves the fans' attention!

4 / 5 STARS

1. We Still Burn
2. Unshackle The Jackal
3. Where Death Is Recrowned
4. Army Of Shadows
5. Unblessed Be Catharsis
6. The Poet And The Meat Cleaver
7. Deus Ex Nihilo
8. The Eating Blood
9. In The Wells They Await

Reviewer: Tsvetan
Apr 14, 2021
Next review: Colossus - Degenesis

Share this: