Deteriorot -The Faithless

It's been almost ten years of silence from death metal outlet Deteriorot since their 2001 debut full length in 2001. The original demo of 'The Faithless' was released in 2002 directly after, but the band decided to take some time in the final production of the album. As a result, fans should be very pleased to know they've created a hybrid of death and doom metal that takes that raw old school feeling and puts it in motion. Some tracks crawl and some downright pound straight through, but either way, waiting this long was a smart move.

Much of the album's music is performed in a slow, gritty melodic style, but other times it is a bit more aggressive. The real thing to pay attention to are the drums because their pace will determine the energy of the music. On tracks like "Into The Abyss Of Sorrow" and "Apocalyptic Holy War" the music just shreds with the guitars cutting like razors while the drums perform blunt head trauma beats with the power of very early Paradise Lost. Other times on tracks like "Beyond The Emptiness" it is an entirely different story as the music just groans with melancholy and crawls its way along. It still has that bold, death metal tone but the entire tempo and pace is excellent doom metal. The vocals are right in the forefront and grunt right along; they are more suited for the doom metal styled passages than death metal because they tend to stay in the one gear the whole time throughout the album. On the death metal tracks they feel a bit out of place because everything is going much faster than them and it makes them feel separate from the music, rather than as a whole.

Perhaps Deteriorot didn't need to take this much time to get this album out, but their direction split is present on this album. Whether or not they'll keep the hybrid sound or head towards one direction permanently is unknown, but it certainly makes their music more dynamic when compared to just straight death or doom metal. It is a fresh sound amongst so many other bands who either go the brutal or technical death metal way so much that it sounds all the same. At least with the varying pace of each song fans can stay interested without becoming bored or tired of it too quckly.

  1. Messages From An Entity
  2. The Phantoms City
  3. The Faithless
  4. Into The Abyss Of Sorrow
  5. Beyond The Emptiness
  6. Apocalyptic Holy War
  7. Restless Spirits
  8. In Ancient Beliefs (2010)
  9. The Bataan Death March
  10. Outbreak Of Evil (Sodom Cover)
  11. Alone And Cold

Reviewer: Colin McNamara
Nov 2, 2010

Share this: