Deus Otiosus - Godless

This Danish death metal bands debut album ‘Murderer’ was in my book amazing genius (review can be found here) and this continues with ‘Godless’ which is on the whole is a little faster than its predecessor. What I found amazing and what I found exciting about this band on their debut is continued on this second release. The production is crisp, whilst still being dirty; I have to commend the band for developing their sound rather than going for a lo-fi rotten sound that many peers are still adopting of late time after time. When you have tracks that are as strong as ‘Pest Grave’ you know you are in good company. The way that the punishing delivery is exasperated by sounds and riffs that tantalise your death metal grounding and immediately results in a perfect combination of old and new. Listeners may find some thrashier moments, combines with a death metal gnarl, an angst that is delivered ‘Surrounded by the Dead’ that in itself is a tirade of doomy beginnings combining some intensely catchy blackened, haunting guitar tones backed by rousing undead spouting vocals. This is where I hear development of the Deus Otiosus sound, there is much more speed, much more deliverance of bands akin to blackend death metal styling’s, but the dead do indeed walk again when you are surrounded and your neighbours are surrounded by such perfect sounds captured in such a way that can defy your speaker rms output, you have to try it once surely!

‘Godless’ a perfect follow up to a crushing debut album, rather than sticking to a set formula, Deus Otiosus have developed, they have grown and this is a perfect mix of old and new death metal with a few hints of further reaching influences that are masterfully executed making ‘Godless’ a very essential death metal album.


  1. Snakes Of The Low
  2. In Harm’s Way
  3. New Dawn
  4. Pest Grave
  5. Surrounded By The Dead
  6. Cast From Heaven
  7. Face The Enemy
  8. Death Dance

Reviewer: twansibon
Nov 19, 2012

Share this: