Devolution - Consumer

Death/black metal from Toulouse (France) named Devolution, one man band that has just released their first work entitled "Consumer". 8 songs that range in different genres but which in the end are all attributable to a surely intriguing and positive result.

The choice was to come out with an entire album, Devolution present themselves with a good job from all points of view. 'De l'Étincelle À La Conflagration' was one of my favorite tracks right from the start. The one that somehow led me into the mood of this band.

Black and death marry perfectly in the construction of these songs. They may still seem a little bit unripe but the direction is definitely the right one. The "melody" is still the master in this album while remaining on heavy and dark territories ('Au Crépuscule De l'Humanité'). Unknown band but undoubtedly supporter of a good job. If you love the sounds of bands like Dissection, Amon Amarth and similar, you might find this work interesting.

"Vestiges" is another gem of this work. his riffs will have you banging your head from start to finish. What to say. I'm happy to see (and hear) that there are new bands capable of offering new and good music. Give this Devolution a chance, you won't regret it. Recommended album.

3.5 / 5 STARS

1. Aux Portes Du Vide
2. Le Poids Du Jugement
3. De l'Étincelle À La Conflagration
4. Au Crépuscule De l'Humanité
5. Déliquescence
6. Vestiges
7. Écimer L'âme
8. Chaos Cérébal

Self released
Reviewer: Enrico Benedetti
Jul 6, 2021

Share this: