Eisbrecher - Eiszeit

Well here we are, another industrial metal/ rock band from Germany in the vein of Rammstein and KMFDM. Between the musical arrangements and vocal patterns, along with the tendency to keep the entire album in the Germanic language, Eiszeit seems like it is just a carbon copy.  "Seems," is an operative word, because for some reason the quality of Eisbrecher sounds a bit better than the other two bands mentioned. For those that miss the Rammstein days of Mutter and Senhsucht, this album is for you. The music is rediculously catchy as it allows frenzied dance beats to mix with the rock vibes of what make Eisbrecher so good.

Vocally, Eisbrecher sounds better than Rammstein as the vocalist can sing with a bit better range and be a bit more comprehensible. Musically though, many of the tracks sound the same, but at least they have the same energy. "Bose Madchen" features electronically enhanced vocals backed by a huge orchestral arrangement and crunching guitars to just wash the listener in industrial greatness. The music crunches and crawls its way along into "Bombe" which is a bit more techno influenced as far as beats go and features a much darker tone, which suis Eisbrecher well. "Gothkiller" is very pop influenced and features guest vocals from Rob Vitacca, a fellow goth/ industrial artists. "Die Engen" is the softest track on the album and features some of the best vocal work, along with some pretty female vocals to back it up until it explodes in the end with an excellent rock solo.

"Segne deinen Schmerz" brings things back to the industrial side by offering a pulsing beat and plenty of electronica moments while the vocals take on a haunting, dark presence. The entire song has a raw, sexual energy to it that made NIN so popular, but Eisbrecher does it with cleaner flair. "Amok" is almost completely electronica, focusing heavily on beats and keyboard arrangements with very little traces of any guitar or hard drumming. "Dein Weg" has some very catchy guitar rhtythms and also sounds more symphonic than industrial, but still kicks ass. "Supermodel" has the radio friendly quality and catchiness that have spawned hits like "Du Hast" (on the Rammstein scale of things) and "Angl" (from the goth industrial band Gothminister). The flavor of the track is downright addicting, and the energy downright astounding. Sure, it may sound like it has been done before, but fans will still love it. Finally, "Der Hauchs Des Leben" closes the album with enough well placed beats and guitar solos to make it the best industrial rock track on the album. It's a bit slower and less energetic than the other tracks, but the brooding power creates a very bombastic feeling to make it a worthy closer.

While this album isn't revoultionary, the key to Eiszeit is catchiness. Eisbrecher are very good at creating dancy, enjoyable albums that work both well in clubs and concerts. If you're already a fan of this, then you'll most likely love it. New fans will probably take some easing into considering its similarities to so many different industrial German artists that use the same formula as them, but there's more than enough to appreciate with Eisbrecher's latest offering.

  1. Böse Mädchen
  2. Eiszeit
  3. Bombe
  4. Gothkiller
  5. Die Engel
  6. Segne Deinen Schmerz
  7. Amok
  8. Dein Weg
  9. Supermodel
  10. Der Hauchs Des Leben

AFM Records
Reviewer: Colin McNamara
Aug 2, 2010

Share this: