Escatology - Blasphemous Godhead

Escatology are young band from Rome, Italy and "Blasphemous Godhead" is their debut recording which is labeled as an EP even though the playing time is longer than 30 minutes.

For those minutes you get eight tracks (one piano intro and 'March And Suffering Of Souls' which is basically screams and a bell ringing) of melodic death metal mixed with some modern breakdown stuff here and there. After the intro, 'Killing Process' starts with a long, hysterical scream from Luis Maggio who easily combines high screams with deep growls. The following 'Scraps Of Society' shows some Lamb Of God influence with killer breakdown part while 'Cataclysmic Wave' is a fast and hysterical track with blastbeats.

Escatology uses some modern thrash and black metal passages but as a whole this EP is more melodic death metal than anything else played by good musicians. All instruments sound good and the production of this EP is on a decent level. Not a bad debut release from a band with a future ahead.

  1. Intro
  2. Killing Progres
  3. Scraps Of Society
  4. Cataclysmic Wave
  5. March And Suffering Of Souls
  6. The Four Seals
  7. The Divine Weapon
  8. Blasphemous Godhead

Reviewer: Tsvetan
Feb 16, 2017

Share this: