Flotsam And Jetsam - Flotsam And Jetsam

I know, a self-titled release, but this legendary thrash band are truly reborn with this album. It has really done no harm in re-recording their classic album "No Place For Disgrace" and F&J are on fire. Combining the thrash and speed of their first few efforts and occasionally giving a nod to their most recent output, I would be bold enough to say this is their best release since "Cuatro", although it’s totally different to that one!

'Seventh Seal' means business, total thrashing business and the original and long standing vocalist Eric AK really gives a spectacular performance. The energy, wow, this is a band truly reborn without making too much noise about it either in the media! 'Iron Maiden' is not a tribute to the band, but I can actually hear a few maiden-isms in this track, it’s an awesome slab of metal that not just limited to the trash sub-genre. I cannot help but sit back and applaud the energy.

F&J invoke lyrics on some tracks that are more than relevant to the current state of the world, thrash bands were traditionally always good with that subject, and the social aspect is not necessarily a subject people tend to make comment about these days without severe confidence, hats off for that gentlemen!

Out of those thrash classic bands, Flotsam and Jetsam are deserving of credit, not only for their longevity and constant involvement in the scene when other bands tended to hide away. The energy and prowess of this truly spectacular and vibrant album is very commendable. If you are talking about a rebirth, then this truly is a more notable than any other I care to think about of recent times. "Flotsam and Jetsam" is a simply a must buy release (available also on vinyl and as a boxset (along with standard CD format too), a highlight of their career so far and a welcomed return for such a hard working band who perhaps haven’t had the best of luck.

  1. Seventh Seal
  2. Life Is A Mess
  3. Taser
  4. Iron Maiden
  5. Verge Of Tragedy
  6. Creeper
  7. L.O.T.D.
  8. The Incantation
  9. Monkey Wrench
  10. Time To Go
  11. Smoking Gun
  12. Forbidden Territories

Reviewer: twansibon
May 18, 2016
Next review: Nucleus - Sentient

Share this: