Flotsam And Jetsam - Once In A Deathtime (DVD)

I suppose you already have heard about Flotsam And Jetsam, if not you should know that their bassist was Jason Newsted. He was bought by Metallica after the death of Cliff Burton. And the funny thing is that guitarist Ed Carlson looks like James Hetfield here on stage with his black clothes and white guitar, haha.

Anyway that was way back in the 80s and the band survived as they are still active. And they they are active you can see at this live show recorded in Poland in March 2008. The show contains songs from their albums "Doomsday For The Deceiver", "No Place For Disgrace", "When The Storm Comes Down", "Cuatro", "Drift" and "High". So this range from 1986 till 1997 and showing their straight thrash riffs with furious leads. Vocalist Eric still has a good voice although he can't scream as high as he did. The songs are from mid to up tempo and are solid as a metal brick. The song choice is good althouh I miss the real classics like "She Took An Axe" and "Iron Tears" but I enjoyed their show with good sound and stage performance.

For extra material it contains an interview but like all releases from Metal Mind they are horrible, shivers. The bio, extended disco and photos (from the live gig and no historic ones) are oke.
Flots Till Death!

Metalmania Festival 2008
1. Hammerhead
2. Me
3. The Master Sleeps
4. Swatting at Flies
5. No Place for Disgrace
6. Doomsday for the Deceiver
7. Hard on You
8. Fork Boy
9. Never to Reveal
10. Escape from Within
11. I Live You Die
12. Smoked Out

The DVD also includes an interview with Craig Nielsen and Ed Carlson, biography, discography, photo gallery, desktop images, weblinks, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound.
Metal Mind Productions
Reviewer: twansibon
Feb 26, 2009

Share this: