Focal Dystonia – Descending (In​)​Human Flesh

Focal Dystonia is an international brutal death metal project started by Floor Van Kuijk of Korpse/Carnifloor fame. After writing the music for the album, Floor got together with Florent Duployer (Anachronism) who did the drum work for this release. From there they sought out 12 of the most intense and brutal vocalists in the genre of brutal death metal. I wasn’t sure what to expect on a release with 12 vocalists, but I remained open to what I was about to hear.

‘Ascending Thy Abhorent Gods’ (Don Campan, vocals, Waking The Cadaver and Hate Diplomacy), was a great way to start off this CD. The music was nice and “thick” with the drumming standing out overall. The vocals were typical for the genre with the low-end growls being nice and guttural. However, the few squeals that were here could have been left out as they didn’t seem to fit with the mood of the music in my opinion. ‘Subjected To Sickness’ (Sven Von Dijk, vocals , Korpse) is next with really heavy riffage to start it off. This sets the mood for the rest of the song. Solos were great too. Sven’s vocals fit the music and add to the overall brutality even thought they don’t sound all that guttural. It was still an awesome effort!

‘Anatomy Of Animosity’ (Andy Tseung, vocals, Soils Of Fate and Devour The Unborn) stands out vocally as it sounds somewhat similar to the first track. Andy has a good set of lungs on him and it’s evident from his performance here that he’s not afraid to go all out! His guttural growls are outstanding! Another plus for this track is the guitar work. Riffs are sharp and clear throughout. ‘Everlasting Diabolic Seizures’ (Larry Wang, vocals, Coprocephalic and Maggot Colony), is a track that blew me away. Larry’s vocals reminded me of those from Infected Flesh and Twitch Of The Death Nerve. This track was balanced as both music and vocals were performed well for the intended process. ‘Pinnacle Of Deranged Euphoria’ (Paolo Chiti, vocals, Devangelic and Anthropofagus), is next and continues the voracious onslaught of brutal death metal madness. I recognize Paolo’s work from Devangelic and it seems as if he’s gotten even more brutal. This was an excellen display of his vocal talents. I am quite impressed with his performance here, as well as with the riffage. While I don’t really consider this one brutal death metal, it sort of reminded me of the riffage on Disincarnate’s “Dreams Of The Carrion Kind”.

I don’t want to give away the whole album, but I and sure that the 5 tracks I’ve listed here will have piqued your interests sufficiently enough to check out the entire project. I assure that you won’t be disappointed. A lot of thought and hard work went into this project and the performances of all those contained within is to be respected and commended. Both Floor and Florent did an excellent job putting this together and all 12 vocalists added their own special talents to this project to make it one of a kind. It would be great if Focal Dystonia exists beyond this release seeing as how flawless this finished product is. Whether it has the same vocalists or enlists others, I think another album would be great and well received. I urge everyone into all extreme forms of metal to check this out. Get in contact with Comatose Music for more info on this release. I’m sure a lot of you out there will be adding this to your collection!

5 / 5 STARS

Reviewer: Michael

Apr 5, 2021

Next review: «
Share this:
R e v i e w

Focal Dystonia – Descending (In​)​Human Flesh

review Focal Dystonia - Descending (In​)​Human Flesh

1. Ascending Thy Abhorrent Gods
2. Subjected To Sickness
3. Anatomy Of Animosity
4. Everlasting Diabolic Seizures
5. Pinnacle Of Deranged Euphoria
6. The Glacial Distorted Bone
7. Cognizance Of Obscurity
8. Neurotic Depravity
9. Scorching The Soul
10. Descending (In)Human Flesh


Follow us

Review tracks on Spotify