Forteresse - Metal Noir Quebecois

Forteresse are two guys from Montreal (Canada) who started in 2006 a hommage to ancient traditions of patriotic and epic black metal. Moribond is handling all the instruments and Athros can be heard as the shrieking voice. On this album you get 6 songs and an intro like you are on a folkish beerfest, haha and you hear such intro with 2 oher songs. But after 20 seconds the mood is changed with raw black metal. The vocals are shrieking in the back and the major part of the music are for the guitars. Melodic and atmospheric riffs that dance through the songs. Because the 6 songs last over 50 minutes the songs are divided into fast and mid tempo pieces. The album is referring to the 90 black metal wave but in the end of the disc you loose attention as there is too little variation between the songs.

1. La Moisson De La Libertée
2. Une Nuit Pour La Patrie
3. La Flamme Et Le Lys
4. De Sang Et De Volonté
5. Métal Noir Québécois
6. Honeur Et Tradition
Sepulchral Productions
Reviewer: twansibon
Feb 26, 2009
Next review: Forseti - Erde

Share this: