Heathen - The Evolution Of Chaos #1

Formed in 1984 Heathen received mainstream success with the album Breaking the Silence in 1987.  The album became a classic among the thrash genre.  One very successful single, a cover of the band Sweet's song, "Set Me Free", received radio play and attention from MTV's Headbanger's Ball.  They released a less commercially successful album in 1991, Victims of Deception. Ultimately, the band took a hiatus in 1992.  However, in 2001 they regrouped to play at the Thrash of the Titans and have now recorded their new album The Evolution of Chaos. The long awaited album will be released January 25, 2010 in Europe and March 31, 2010 in the U.S.

The Evolution of Chaos is unmistakably Bay Area Thrash.  Heavy aggressive thrash music combined with the melodic vocal style of Dave White is just what you would expect from Heathen and is just what you get from this album.  Fast rhythms, angry lyrics, and the excellent screaming guitar solos are heard throughout.

The return of Darren Minter on drums takes this album to a new level.  The Evolution of Chaos has one of the most powerful displays of drumming heard on a thrash album.  His lightning fast, relentless, complex drumming showcases Minter's incredible talent.  He is easily one of the most under-rated drummers on the thrash scene.

This band has a wide range of ability which can be heard on the song "No Stone Unturned".  The heavy head banging beats combined with the melodic, screaming, fast guitars, which are so classic of thrash music, are prevalent throughout this song.  Furthermore, the bass line is strong and the slow tempo change midway in the song adds a richness to the melody.

Overall this is a great album and Heathen fans will not be disappointed.  While the wait has been long for the release...it will be worth it.  Horns up!

Current Lineup:
Dave White (vocals)
Lee Altus (guitar; EXODUS)
Kragen Lum (guitar; PROTOTYPE)
Jon Torres (bass; ANGELWITCH)
Darren Minter (drummer)

1. Intro
2. Dying Season
3. Control By Chaos
4. No Stone Unturned
5. Arrows of Agony
6. Fade Away
7. A Hero's Welcome
8. Undone
9. Bloodkult
10. Red Tears of Disgrace
11. Silent Nothingness

Mascot Records
Reviewer: SweetSinz
Nov 30, 2009

Share this: