Obituary - Inked In Blood

2014 is shaping up to be a fantastic year for Metal. There are so many great releases from old and new bands alike I can't keep up, my wallet is very empty and my postman hates me!

One of the many highlights is this new gem from the almighty Obituary. With a 5 year gap between this and their last album "Darkest Day" my appetite for a new album from the band was raging. With the build up with their fact this album was crowd funded gave the album a nice build up also.

For the uninitiated, Obituary is one of the cornerstone Death Metal bands. What sets them aside especially in today' climate is that they don't really do blastbeats, they are not over technical. Instead they have a sludgy, doomy and for want of a better term Southern feel to them. They are one of the few Death Metal bands that didn't forget the impact of a good riff and that speed doesn't equal heaviness! (That's important kids!) They have a great emphasis on groove. John Tardy has one of Metal's most distinct voices and his brother Donald Tardy is one of metal' under rated drummer' the guy just perfectly support's the songs. His patterns are perfect and he knows how to let the songs breath. He has more in common with Bill ward then say Gene Hoglan.

Anyway Obituary albums are like pizza. They are never bad, you always going to get your fill. This album though the band have got that extra spark that makes a good album a great album, the last two albums "Xecutioner's return" and "Darkest Day" weren’t bad albums by any stretch of the imagination but on this album they sound refreshed and firing from all cylinder's. Be it the five year gap or the addition of Kenny Andrews on guitar and Terry Butler on bass, whatever it is it's worked and Obituary have released their best album since "World Demise"!

After a few spins tracks like Violent by Nature, Back on top, Visions in my head, they already sound like classics. The album just plays itself each track flows perfectly into another, it's nearly an hour long and you don't even notice. It's worth getting the special edition with two extra tracks also; they are awesome as anything on the album. You be headbanging in your car I promise you!

No one is saying this is better then the band's classic material but it is just as essential!

1. Centuries of Lies
2. Violent By Nature
3. Pain Inside
4. Visions In My Head
5. Back On Top
6. Violence
7. Inked In Blood
8. Deny You
9. Within A Dying Breed
10. Minds Of The World
11. Out Of Blood
12. Paralyzed With Fear
13. Intoxicated (bonus track)
14. BloodSoaked (bonus track)

Reviewer: twansibon
Nov 6, 2014
Next review: Pandemonium - Devilri

Share this: