Prezir - Depredation

Being reminiscent of bands like Behemoth, Dissection, and a little bit of Emperor, Prezir’s “Depredation” is a malicious onslaught of death infused black metal with each element seemingly fighting for supremacy. The death metal vibes are orchestrated nicely within to make this a unique sounding piece of work. What I like about this release are the solo pieces. With everything else going on, and when you least expect it, the band will drop a solo in right out of the blue blurring the lines between genres and creating a certain melody to the material that is much needed.

I say much needed because, while this CD is a fairly decent one, there seems to be a certain lack of direction where the riffs are concerned. This tends to disrupt the continuity just a little bit. Things are on point with the melody and solo parts, however, with the blast beats and riffs, it’s like there is no point other than to be chaotic. Now, there is a certain uniqueness to this sound and style, but for me, things get a little choppy. This is not to say that the whole album is lost, there just needs to be a little more direction as far as the music goes. With that being said, this is a good CD for the material that is presented, just be aware that for some it may take some getting use to. You can tell this album wasn’t slapped together, but at the same time the band could have spent a little more time making sure that the listener could make sense of all the chaos.

Something else I picked up on here was the production of the drum work. At times, it sounds a little raw in presentation kind of like the drums on Mayhem’s “De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas”. This is a really nice feel for the overall sound on the album and evens things out somewhat. It’s almost like the glue that’s holding everything together.

Other than the drum work, the best thing on this album was the vocals. The patterns chosen for this material fit perfectly and add that extra amount of cohesiveness to the album overall. So, like I said, the seemingly directionless chaos of the guitars is no reason to write this release off. The other elements of these songs make up for what the guitars lack.

It’s not a perfect album by any means, but I still respect the band for their efforts because, at the end of the day, it is still a quite listenable release.

3 / 5 STARS

1. Sacrificed, The Honor Dead
2. Emissary Artifice
3. Deprivation Doctrine
4. Terrors Of The Steppe
5. The Falcon And The Lionheart
6. Krvoproliće I Propast
7. Feasting From The Cradle
8. Peasantry Messiah

Self released
Reviewer: michael
Dec 22, 2021

Share this: