Profanity - Fragments Of Solace

German death metallers Profanity will release the new (fourth) album “Fragments Of Solace” on December 4th 2020. For this release the german trio has decided to call famous people of the world death scene to participate as guest on some tracks. We're talking about Terrance Hobbs of Suffocation, Dave Suzuki (ex Vital Remains), Dima Orlov of Fetal Decay and Matt Sotelo of Decrepit Birth.

But let's talk about this record. 7 tracks for 40 minutes of pure death metal. I think the presence of the previously mentioned guests is very much felt within the album. I believe, without a shadow of a doubt, that this is, to date, the best release by Profanity. The album is fresh and never repetitive, I think the songwriting has reached excellent levels and the quality of the solos is truly remarkable. Songs like 'Reckless Souls' will please a lot of people despite being a song that is well over 8 minutes long. Same goes for the next 'Where Forever Starts', which fearlessly goes beyond 9 minutes in length. Rhythm section always present and excellently blended in every song.

Album to listen to at least 2/3 times before getting into the right mood. In the end, however, the result feels and is really excellent. Let yourself be carried away by the 'Disputed Territory' opener on this long journey through the darkest landscapes of death metal. In this album you will find everything you want: brutality, melody, technique, bone-breaking riffs and guttural voices. No mercy until the final 'The Autopsy' which with its amazing solos will put an end to this extreme journey. Great Profanity... great album!

4 / 5 STARS 


1. Disputed Territory
2. Progenitor Of The Blaze
3. Reckless Souls
4. Where Forever Starts
5. Towards The Sun
6. Ceremony Of The Rotten
7. The Autopsy

Self released
Reviewer: Enrico Benedetti
Dec 2, 2020

Share this: