Sick Room 7 - Hail Intolerance

Sick Room 7 are a mix of gothic rock and doom metal, keeping it on the mellow and spacey side. The vocals consist of spoken words, hissing and screaming that give the listener the feeling of being immersed in another person's inner dialog. Guitars with psychedelic fuzz and washes of clean sound, together with a background of mysterious keyboards, strong brooding bass lines and hypnotic slow percussion put the listener in a dark atmospheric trance, not unlike listening to an old Doors song or something.

Vuml and Svest who were members of the band Forlis (with Killjoy of Necrophagia) joined forces with Drukh and they put out a demo called "Crawling Words" in 2005. They then signed with French label Soundspheric to put out this, their first full-length album in 2006. There is a sort of cohesiveness between the tracks of "Hail Intolerance" which ties them together to form a whole. Sick Room 7 is very avant project which seems to fly in the face of conventional song structure and musical genre. Infused with their aesthetic sensibilities and solid musicianship, this is a release which should be hailed as a work of art.

1. Hail Intolerance
2. Beyond Suffering
3. Loose Ends
4. It Runs Deep
5. The Ecstasy Of Seeing You (Hitting That Wall)
6. The Shadow Of Punishment
7. Enter Sick Room 7
8. Thorns Between Us
9. Crawling Words
10. Another Hollow Voice Pt I
11. Another Hollow Voice Pt II
12. Floating Promise
13. Rejection Act

Sound Spheric Records
Reviewer: mykke
Feb 26, 2009
Next review: Sickhead - Abuse

Share this: