Slayer - World Painted Blood (#2)

I´ve always thought the old saying "less is more" didn´t apply to a punishing thrashbeast like Slayer. But this time I´m sad to say it did. The production on ´World painted blood´ is weak and delicate, to say the least. The rawness and dirt in the music has been polished away, making the act appear like a kitten instead of a lion. That´s a huge disadvantage. Let´s go on to the vocals instead, where I´ve no complains at all. Tom Araya sounds pretty pissed off as usual and in between he actually sings better than ever. But an angry voice doesn´t compensate trivial lyrics. Sentences like "I stab you right between the eyes" just feel laughable. I would have believed him in 1986, but in 2009 it doesn´t sound as trustworthy as it once did. The album is quite speedy, and the guys sounds young and spitited. The guitarsolo-duels between Kerry King and Jeff Hanneman are there as usual. I know all you hardcore fans love them and will probably hunt me down and beat me to death for saying this, but all that squealing, shouting and bending has never impressed me. However, it´s a trademark in their music. Behind the drums there are no surprises. Dave Lombardo is doing a great job, nothing more, nothing less, you´ve heard it all before. Which leaves us to the most important thing, how do they manage to get the songs together? Really well, thank God. Or Satan, if you prefer. Rough riffing and nasty, evil melodies skipping from fast to slow beats in a typical Slayer manner. And the choruses are very clear and straight on. Strong and alert body in a worn out and ugly suit.

1. World Painted Blood
2. Unit 731
3. Snuff
4. Beauty Through Order
5. Hate Worldwide
6. Public Display of Dismemberment
7. Human Strain
8. Americon
9. Psychopathy Red
10. Playing With Dolls
11. Not of This God

American Recordings
Reviewer: Micke
Nov 9, 2009

Share this: