Soulgate’s Dawn - Messiah

One could say that if you’ve heard one metal-core band, you’ve heard them all. Well that statement holds true for Soulgate’s Dawn and their new release “Messiah.” Even part way into the first track, it is possible to forget you are listening to Soulgate’s Dawn and not Despised Icon, Black Dahlia Murder, or Bullet for my Valentine. Line all of these bands up, play a track from each, and see if you can tell the difference. Soulgate’s Dawn sound like they listened to a bunch of metal-core bands, then picked up some instruments and played what they just heard. The album is chock full of predictable riffs, screaming vocals, and breakdowns for arm windmills and ninja kicks. The sound is recycled, over used and boring. Sure if you’re a big scencester, you’ll dig this record, cause you and your buddies can windmill your arms and ninja kick ‘till your mom tells you its bed time, but if you are looking for originality, GUITAR LEADS, and aren’t a fan of breakdowns, don’t bother with Soulgate’s Dawn.

1. Illuminate
2. Disdained Paradise
3. Burning On All Sides
4. Superiority
5. Misery
6. Carillion
7. The Key
8. One
9. Lost Control
10. Where It Begins
11. Conflict
Bastardized Recordings
Reviewer: twansibon
Jun 26, 2009

Share this: