The Final Harvest - The End

The Final Harvest hasn't been around for too long, only forming in 2007 from Finland and releasing "The End" as their first album, but it is obvious they'll be around for a while. Everything on this album shouts death/metalcore thrash glory in the way the blastbeats and groovy riffs work together with mid paced screaming vocals. The band tries not to play the same riffs over and over throughout the album but also tries to keep things catchy and fast. There are no melodic breakdowns, no clean vocal moments; just straight up extreme music done right.

The opening track to "The End" is a bit of misleader as it starts with a very melodic, operatic introduction that will never be heard again on any part of the album. Fortunately, the heavy guitars come in halfway through the song in conjunction with the orchestrations and synth, but still that combination will not make an appearance again. What follows this is groovy, metalcore/deathcore influenced thrash in the vein of Killswitch Engage, Black Dahlia Murder, Unearth, and Bleeding Through. Despite the fact the songs may sound generic, there's enough anthem pumping adrenaline to make each one in enjoyable in their own way. The guitars chug their way through concert staples like "Wheel Of Misfortunate" and "The End" along with enough melody to keep fans pleased, while other thicker, more hardcore influenced tunes like "Messiah" are sure to get a mosh pit going. There isn't much room for mercy here.

The two bonus tracks offered are a little grittier than the other songs in the sense of production but they offer a little more at the same time. Most of the vocals done between "The Chosen Suffering" and "The Rapture" are growled more than just screamed, breaking the monotone mood of the lyrical aspects of the album. Guitars are a little thicker and have more crunch to them, but still have that hardcore/deathcore influence to them. It is hard to tell if these songs were demos or not, but they only enhance the band's musical qualities. Hopefully more growled vocals will be used in the future but the melody intent will be kept the same to continue making some good deathcore/metalcore that isn't all about blastbeats.

  1. The Beginning Of The End
  2. Purgatory
  3. Wheel Of Misfortune
  4. Bloodgod
  5. Obidience
  6. Warrior Song
  7. Messiah
  8. Bleeding
  9. Attack
  10. The End
  11. The Chosen Suffering (bonus)
  12. The Rapture (bonus)

Stay Heavy Records
Reviewer: Colin McNamara
Apr 11, 2010

Share this: