Thornium – Mushroom Clouds and Dusk

Thornium was founded by Thyph (a.k.a Thypheuz) in 1993. Thyph entered the studio the same year to record Thornium´s first and only demo “North Storms Of The Bestial Goat Sign”. All instruments was recorded by Thyph himself starting with the drums, then the guitars on top and lastly bass guitar and vocals.

The demo resulted in a deal for a full length CD with a small Dutch label (r.i.p) named Necromantic Gallery Productions.

During the dark winter months of November and December in 1994 Thornium entered the studio once more to record the debut album “Dominions Of The Eclipse”. This time the line-up consisted of Thyph on drums, bass guitar, guitar, throat and Ulverheim on lead guitar and acoustic guitars. Originally the album title was meant to be “Carpathian Night Shadows”, but that title was soon changed. Since the band were unhappy with the eighth track, “Slottet I Skuggornas Mörker”, they wanted to exclude it from the album completely. But after some persuasion from the label (NGP) it was finally added to form the complete debut album of Thornium, which was released by NGP in 1995. A CD containing eight songs of dark, grim and chilling Black Metal and one last gloomy song made with synthesizers. Even though the budget was very small Thornium managed to produce a cold and raw album capturing the very essence of Black Metal! Sadly, until present day this is the only album released by Thornium.

In June 2008 Thornium signed a 3 album deal with the Dutch label Soulseller Records and the next album is expected to be released in the  beginning of 2009. The title is "Mushroom Clouds And Dusk".

Thornium from Sweden plays melodic black metal, and this not so bad. The songs all have the typical trademarks, a true evil croaking voice, snare-blasts, chainsaw-guitars, a non hearing bass guitar, some porn-riffs (black´n roll style) and some synthizer effects, but Thornium are able to create a interesting album. As a special goodie, there are some nice guitar soli (melodic and well played) in the songs, which is not usual for Black Metal. Their songs are well balanced with fine riffing and good rhythm changes. The sound is really professionell and the songs have a powerfull structure. Thornium have made a good album which has a own character and does not sound like uncountable others.

1. Döden
2. In The Service of Hell (Satanic Black Metal)
3. Mushroom Clouds and Dusk
4. Black Goddess
5. Horns and Hoofs
6. Ett Hjärta Av Sten
7. Melankoli Och Död
8. Beyond Cosmic Borders
Soulseller Records
Reviewer: twansibon
Aug 1, 2009

Share this: