Undergang - Døden Læger Alle Sår

Undergang brings us their third full length, "Doden Laeger Alle Sar". I never thought Denmark could produce such bone crunching music. The bar has just been raised in death metal. The cover is a great representation of the vibe of the record. This record captures the sonic quality of being completely and utterly decimated by the struggles of society.

The album starts off with the title track and gives us this sweet little clean intro. Then the bludgeoning of the sludgiest riffs you’ve ever heard in your life begin churning. If Obituary, Krypts and Binah all had an orgy and somehow procreated from that… then you would have something quite close to Undergang. The guttural and grimy vocals fit perfectly. Not many vocalists can pull off this style but in Undergang he perfects the art of low vocals. It’s refreshing to hear more recent metal albums like this one, that have a punk influence with crust and D-beat all mixed in. "Doden Laeger Alle Sar" is extremely consistent without getting stale at all. Undergang takes rhythm guitar writing to another level. The song structures are interesting and the riffs are thought provoking. Each track stands alone on its own. The album is so cohesive and keeps you wanting to hear the next track. Two words come to mind when I’m listening to this record…. 'Sludge' and 'Groove'. I haven’t heard such killer death metal grooves since Obituary’s "Cause Of Death".

This album has a lot to offer to a broad listening audience. Fans of death metal, sludge, D-Beat, punk and even black metal can find something to enjoy to the fullest on this record. After listening to this album and letting it all soak in, now you’re left with one thing to accomplish. Go listen to the entire Undergang discography. It’s all good. Cheers.

  1. Døden Læger Alle Sår
  2. Jomfrublodbad
  3. Kronisk Betændelse I Tarmene
  4. Ad Ligbitum
  5. Radbrækket
  6. Lemlæstelsens Kunst
  7. Kogt I Blod
  8. Gravrust
  9. Dødsfald
  10. Det Gør Kun Ondt Til Du Dør