Unholy - Awaken The Sleep

This EP was released first in the US but now comes as an European digi version (new artwork) and with a bonus song. Having their roots in the hardcore and metal Unholy cracks up with this slamming EP. The first impression is pure aggression. Shouty vocals over up tempo beats with moshparts. Also Karl of Earth Crisis is doing guest vocals. Their love for metal can be found back in the guitar riifs and leads. Lyrically they use dark themes like the end of mankind or Lovecraftian writings. Short songs that have a drive and a certain hook that would appeal hardcore and (crossover) metal fans. In my case it keeps spinning a lot around while reviewing it. Very nice EP of this 5 piece.

1. Awaken The Sleep
2. Man Behind The Sun
3. Oblivion
4. Rise Of Sarnath
5. The Medusa
6. Everything You Know Is Dead
7. Dreams In The Witchhouse
8. Scales From A Leper

Silent Stagnation Records
Reviewer: twansibon
Feb 26, 2009

Share this: