Wykked Wytch - The Ultimate Deception

This female fronted extreme metal band from southern California mix black/death and trash metal with their own brand of melody, technicality and aggression to create their unique sound. This is their fifth album in their 16 year career, spotted with many different band members, who, within their time with the band, have not hanged the sound too drastically from its original.

The album bursts into life with a typically thrash opening, that is soon twisted by the addition of the screechy screamy female vocal that penetrates and permeates throughout every track. The backing vocals are taken by a male member and this battle at times creates a depth and richness not always able to be produced – however this battle of the sexes/vocals creates a different sound entirely, that melds together and takes over.

This is carried throughout the album, this mix of screamo/black metal vocals against the speed and harshness of the thrash guitars. This speed is by no means delicate, but it leads into the songs perfectly, and takes them to another level not often found musically.


  1. Birthing The Beast
  2. The Ultimate Deception
  3. Serpents Among Us
  4. Despised Existence
  5. Prayers Of The Decapitated
  6. When The Sleepers Rise 
  7. Ecstasy
  8. Fade To Black 
  9. Abolish The Weak
  10. Eyes Of A Vulture

Reviewer: twansibon
Mar 14, 2012
Next review: Ahnengrab - Omen

Share this: